A Crumpled Valentine


Sorry.

I’m terrible,
honestly, at following
convention;

my emotions are
all Tetris blocks,
clusterfuck of
awkward shapes filling up
to the top of my capacity to

process what we are

as outsiders preempt us
during
last-ditch attempts to
call the shots.

But I want to
return the sentiment
you show me, proving I don’t
have to accept
loneliness to
have my bearings;

with you,
it’s not so embarrassing to
admit I’m lost deep
in thought.

Here. I bought
this card for you at the
corner. I’m too poor to buy
more than pasta
and rice, let
alone roses.

It got a bit bent
out of shape
on the way to you,

but it will
always bear my
hand-chosen brand of
awkward
devotion.

I love you
with all my
crumpled heart, as you
unfold it

in slow motion.

51 thoughts on “A Crumpled Valentine

  1. I just absolutely love this! When I use the term “its the thought that counts”, I actually mean it. There is nothing better then a token of ones affection that was chosen specifically for you regardless of the monetary value. Also, love the reference of your emotions like tetris blocks, it is a perfect visual for something so intangible.Wonderfully executed, makes me with I were getting a valentine :)

  2. Crumpled perhaps,
    but perfectly put.
    Sometimes it’s the symbols that are of least material value,
    that are most sincerely given,
    and that we truly take to our hearts, and value the most.
    Emma x.

  3. Love the pasta and rice line.

    It pretty much sums up my current position. So I made my valentine a pasta necklace and handmade card out of construction paper. It actually went really well.

  4. very well work done…keep going…i liked it…its a nice…as am a new blogger in this world and i wrote just 1 blog (http://mindtechnorms.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/when-god-granted-tittus-to-go-to-earth-for-1-day-part-i/) and unable to find my viewer (38 viewers in 2 days) like you, can u please help me by reading my 1st blog what wrong with my writing…is really something wrong with my writing or am just expecting too early…your helpful suggestions will really inspire me…

  5. ” … it will / always bear my / hand-chosen brand of / awkward / devotion.”

    This entire poem is fantastic, and I love the lines quoted above the best of all. “Hand-chosen” is an amazing modifier for “brand,” and “awkward” is an amazing modifier for “devotion.” Perfection.

Leave a Reply

